Car accidents can bring about a lot of questions–questions you never thought you’d have to ask. The Injury Firm’s Las Vegas car accident attorneys are ready to answer them for you! Here are some of the most frequently asked questions from our car accident injury clients:
1. Where Do I File a Police Report in Las Vegas?
If you need to file a police report in Las Vegas, you may make a report online, locate your local police station and make a report in person, or call the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department at (702) 828-3111, and file over the phone.
2. Is Nevada a No-Fault State for Car Accidents?
No. Nevada is at at-fault state. This means that the person or entity who is found responsible for the accident must compensate the victims for their damages and injuries, regardless of how big or small they may be. Even though liability insurance is required, you can still buy uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance coverage that acts as a safeguard in the event that the at-fault party doesn’t have proper car insurance.
3. How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident in Nevada?
Nevada provides a 10-day window to file a car accident report. NRS 484E.10 states that you are required to file an SR-1 no more than 10-days following a car accident. You must file this report if anyone is hurt, killed, or if there is property damage of more than $750. However, if the police respond to the scene of the accident, you are not required to file this report as they will do so for you.
4. How Long Does an Insurance Company Have to Investigate A Claim in Nevada?
Nevada law 690B.012 grants insurance companies 30-days to complete an investigation. The only exception to this rule is if the investigation cannot be reasonably completed within this timeframe.
5. Will My Car Accident Case Go To Court?
Most car accident cases do not go to court as a resolution or agreement is typically met prior to the trial date. However, some car accident cases will have a few court hearings, though these are just preliminary hearings and not an actual trial.
6. What Should I Do After A Car Accident?
The first thing you should do following a car accident is call 911 if anyone is hurt. If there is no injury, you should call the non-emergency line, 311, to report the accident. You should then exchange drivers license information, insurance information, and gather witness information of any individuals who witnessed the accident. You should also be sure to take photos of the scene and all property damage to document your claim.
7. What Should You Not Do After a Car Accident
First and foremost, you should never flee the accident scene! Secondly, you should never admit guilt or apologize if you are unsure as to whether or not the accident was your fault. If you are injured, you should not decline medical treatment under the presumption that your injuries will get better on their own. Lastly, you should never, ever speak to the insurance companies without first retaining a personal injury lawyer!
8. How Long Do I Have to File A Claim For My Car Accident?
The State of Nevada provides two years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit. Regardless of whether the case an injury, two years is the maximum limit to file a claim. If the claim revolves around a vehicle defect, you have four years from the time you discover the defect to file a claim.
Free Accident Injury Consultation
Enter Your Information Below. One of Our Lawyers Will Reach out To You For Your Free Consultation!