Every state employs its own rules for auto insurance coverage, and Nevada has recently increased theirs from $18,000 per any one accident to $25,000 to any one accident. Unfortunately, not every driver abides by this rule. As the recent increase in insurance coverage has caused some premiums to increase, many drivers have been found operating their vehicles without any insurance coverage at all. In the unfortunate event that you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you will absolutely need to consult with our experienced Las Vegas underinsured or uninsured accident lawyer.

With over a decade of experience defending injury victims in Las Vegas, NV, The Injury Firm attorneys can help you build a strong case if you decide to file a lawsuit against a negligent motorist. Our Las Vegas car accident lawyers will also assist you in speaking with the insurance company to help you obtain maximum compensation from your own insurance company in the event the at-fault driver does not have adequate insurance coverage.

Contact Our Lawyers 24/7
Call (702) 800-0988


Nevada Auto Insurance Requirements

The State of Nevada requires all automobile liability policies hold $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person in any one accident, and $50,000 for the injury or death of any two persons in any one accident. This rule has recently increased as of 2018, where the minimum policy limits were $15,000 for any injury or death any one person in any one accident, and $30,000 for the injury or death of any two persons in one accident.

You should remember that these are only the suggested minimum policy limits. You will usually have the option to purchase additional coverage through your auto insurance carrier, including uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage (“UM/UIM”).  This additional coverage will help you immensely in the event you are ever hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Although your premiums may increase slightly, it is worth investigating to see if it makes sense for your specific situation.

Can I Sue If I Am Hit By An Uninsured or Underinsured Driver?

If you have been injured due to the actions of a negligent, under-or-uninsured driver, you will likely consider filing a lawsuit against the at-fault party.  If the at-fault party has financial or personal assets, he or she may agree to settle with you to cover your damages. However, this is usually not the case. If the at-fault party does not have the means to compensate you for your injuries, you can file a claim with your own insurance company.

Your attorney will help you draft a letter to your insurance company that will outline your damages that supports a demand for compensation. It is important to include as much evidence as possible, as they will likely look for ways to significantly lower–or deny–coverage. Your attorney will handle all negotiations and communications on your behalf to help ensure a favorable outcome.

Contact Our Law Firm For A Free Consultation

Although you may feel discouraged if you’ve been hit by an under-or-uninsured driver, you still have options for recovering after an accident. Our Las Vegas personal injury attorneys at The Injury Firm have over a decade of experience helping accident victims throughout the Las Vegas Valley, and we are available to help you 24/7.

Client Testimonial:

“I got into an accident that wasn’t my fault. When my insurance wanted to hold me accountable for it I didn’t know who to call so I reached out to The Injury Firm. I can’t tell you how satisfied I was! It was like having a personal assistant. They took care of everything for me. I hope I never get in an accident again but if I do, they’ll be the first call I make.” – Omid S.


Free Consultation