The State of Nevada requires drivers to maintain a minimum policy of liability car insurance coverage. Nevada law requires motorists to purchase coverage that pays injured parties in the event they are found to be at-fault for a car accident. The Nevada auto insurance minimums are:
$15,000 per person for bodily injury; $30,000 for bodily injury; $10,000 for property damage.
Moreover, it’s estimated that approximately 15 percent of Nevada drivers are uninsured. Purchasing additional coverage on your own plan is the best way to ensure you are protected if you’re ever hit by an underinsured/uninsured motorist.
State of Nevada Supplemental Auto Insurance Coverage
Comprehensive: Pays for the damage to your vehicle that occurs due to reasons other than an accident, such as weather conditions, roadway hazards, and vehicular theft.
Collision: This covers damage to your vehicle that is a result of a crash, regardless of the at-fault party.
Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist: This protects you in the event you are hit by an uninsured/underinsured motorist.
MedPay: This covers medical treatment for any injuries to the policyholder driver or passengers with no consideration of fault.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP): AKA “no-fault insurance” covers medical bills and lost wages to the policyholder or passengers regardless of fault.
What Are The Insurance Minimums?
The State of Nevada requires all vehicles registered to maintain liability insurance for the entire registration period, even if you do not regularly use your car, truck, SUV, or other registered motor vehicles. The Nevada auto insurance minimums include the following vehicular coverage:
$25,000 for bodily injury or death of any one (1) person on any one (1) accident; $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two for any accident; (2) or more persons on any one (1) accident.
$20,000 for any one (1) accident; however, it is highly advisable you purchase more than the minimum coverage. This is because if you’re injured in and/or involved in a major car wreck, you stand the chance of not being able to recover enough to cover all of your expenses.
For example, if your injury claim is worth $80,000, but you and the negligent driver only have the $20,000/$40,000 bodily injury minimum, you will only be paid $20,000 by the at-fault driver’s insurance company and $20,000 by your own insurance carrier.
Therefore, you should also purchase uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist insurance since roughly 15 percent of Nevada are not adequately insured. If you purchase this type of insurance coverage, you may file a claim against your own insurance provider to help recover for your expenses.